## Manchester City Council Report for Information

**Report to:**Council – 19 May 2021

Subject: Seniority of Councillors 2021/22

Report of: City Solicitor

## 1. Background

1.1 Following the election held on 6 May 2021, and the ballot that the Lord Mayor subsequently conducted on 12 May 2021 to determine the seniority of newly elected councillors without previous qualifying service, the Order of Seniority of Members of the Council is as follows –

## **Seniority by Office**

The Right Worshipful, The Lord Mayor The Deputy Lord Mayor The Leader of the Council The Leader of the Opposition

Patrick Karney **Richard Leese Basil Curley** Eddy Newman **Glynn Evans** Susan Cooley Paul Andrews **Bernard Priest** Joanne Green John Flanagan Tom Judge June Hitchen Abid Chohan Naeem Ul-Hassan Andrew Simcock John Leech Rosa Battle Sameem Ali Veronica Kirkpatrick Luthfur Rahman Suzannah Reeves Rabnawaz Akbar Suzanne Richards Julie Reid Tracey Rawlins Aftab Razaq

Matthew Strong **Bev Craig** John Hughes **Carmine Grimshaw** Shelley Lanchbury Joan Davies Nasrin Ali Ahmed Ali Luke Raikes Angeliki Stogia Shaukat Ali Joanna Midgley Afia Kamal Tina Hewitson Donna Ludford Sarah Russell Azra Ali Sandra Collins Yasmin Dar John Hacking James Wilson Rebecca Moore Mandie Shilton Godwin **Emily Rowles** Dzidra Noor Basat Sheikh Paula Appleby Dave Rawson **Garry Bridges** Sarah Judge Lee-Ann Igbon John Farrell Paula Sadler Emma Taylor Mary Monaghan Mahadi Mahamed Hannah Priest Zahra Alijah Chris Wills Jill Lovecy Ali Ilyas Annette Wright William Jeavons Sam Lynch Sean McHale Majid Dar Eve Holt Sam Wheeler Ben Clay Adele Douglas

Gavin White Fias Riasat Jon-Connor Lyons Marcus Johns **Tim Whiston** Shazia Butt **Greg Stanton** Jade Mary Doswell Amna Saad Omar Abdullatif **Becky Chambers** Julie Connolly\*\* (previous service 2015 -18) Marcia Hutchinson Debbie Hilal Rob Nunnev **Thomas Robinson** Ekua Bayunu Muqqadash Bano Julia Baker Smith Zahid Hussain Linda Foley

## Notes

Seniority is calculated on total aggregated length of service as a member of the Council, with the exception of the members marked \*\*.

\* The seniority of these members, without previous service as councillors for Manchester, was determined by a ballot conducted by the Lord Mayor on 12 May 2021.

City Solicitor

12 May 2021